A SAMPLE LETTER TO WRITE TO SAFEWAY TO ENCOURAGE THEM TO LABEL GMO’S AND GE FOODS


Dear Mr/Ms Manager,
I know you are just like me, trying to do your best to make a good living, perhaps feeding a family, and generally trying to make the world a better place. However, your parent corporation has decided that it’s better to deceive me and thousands of other moms across the country by contributing almost $1.5 million to defeat GMO labeling efforts in California and Washington State. So it saddens me to tell you that I can no longer shop at the Safeway location in <insert local municipality here.)
This is painful, because I like Safeway, and I want to support the efforts you’ve made to include local items. However, when I know that (insert list of ethical store chains) also sell local, organic produce and their parent companies have decided that I, as a consumer, have the right to make a fully informed choice about the food I put in my body, and the bodies of my children.
To put this into perspective, take the following scenario- if just 1000 of us that visit your store decide that we need to take our business elsewhere, it adds up. Let’s say each of us spends $100 per month at your store. That becomes $100,000 per month in lost revenue, which then becomes $1.2 million of missed opportunity. That’s almost as much as what your company has spent to try to tell us we don’t have the right to know if GMO’s are in our food. Now think about how many Safeways are near you…. I think you can see how this goes. And that’s just assuming that I only spend $100 a month at your store. You know as well as I what the average mom spends on groceries each month. Essentially, your corporation is taking the gamble that this goes unnoticed and that the hit to your numbers is worth the effort.
I really dislike doing this, but I can’t support a business the contributes to this type of dishonesty. Safeway has basically told me that my opinion as a consumer doesn’t matter. But it does, and if I have to vote with my dollars, I will. Because the proper order of a free market is that producers produce what consumers demand, and I demand GMO labeling.
Yours, very sincerely,

One thought on “A SAMPLE LETTER TO WRITE TO SAFEWAY TO ENCOURAGE THEM TO LABEL GMO’S AND GE FOODS

  1. Europeans are hot on the subject of genetically modified food. They do not serve genetically modified foods in their restaurants and bistros. We were just there last summer. The foods served are tasteless. Chicken is bland. Lettuce is bitter. The major food providers in the USA have been modifying foods for generations. Sweet corn wouldn’t be sweet unless they had not experimented with the seed. Nectarines are not part of nature – they are a combination of a plum and peach. Boysenberries are a modified berry created by a farmer named Rudolph Boysen.

    The anti GMO is a fad.

Leave a Reply

