BECAUSE ITS DEPRESSING


I am up at my oldest daughters home for the next month helping with her 3 month old while she finishes up the school year. She is a school nurse and her maternity leave is up before the school year ends. Thankfully I am able to come up and spend the next month taking care of little Violet.

So this morning while drinking coffee and going through my emails ( usually get anywhere from 100 to 200 a day) I was commenting on the different issues that were presented. Bless her heart she did listen for quite awhile and then she held her hand up and said- please mom, it’s just too depressing to listen to. Therein lies the biggest problem facing our country how to get the masses interested in the current events and important issues.

Our media shoulders the blame for the way that most people think in our country and people are bombarded with Bruce Jenner and his transgender identity crisis and the dugger clan and anything but the real issues. Although I don’t listen to mainstream media, I do subscribe to many sources that send me updates on what is happening on the mainstream media so as to be aware of why people think the way we do in our country. My daughter had CNN on and Senator Sanders was talking about our higher education crisis and how important it is to have free education for all. My daughters reaction was sadly similar to most in our country and she said how could we possibly afford that and after all she is still paying on her school debt- so why should those going now get off without that debt?

Trying to explain that it would actually save our country money and result in a better educated workforce didn’t fly. In fact her first response was great what is this man saying now and not one of real interest but rather one of derision.  There were other subjects brought up before she said no more.

So this is the reality in our country-  it’s too depressing to discuss the real issues and can we go back to talking about anything but the reality of what is wrong in our country. If my children who were brought up to question and to think, what then must those who were not taught that , think? My real question is- how do we get Americans to wake up and want to know what the issues are and how to react with more than it’s so depressing, please change the subject?

Hopefully your long weekend is spent with family and friends and is peaceful.

dreamer

One thought on “BECAUSE ITS DEPRESSING

  1. Yes, the news is depressing. Good news rarely makes it to the front page of a newspaper. I turn off most stories about killing no matter the location. I skip most stories about bombings and terrorist activities. Once made aware of the occurrence I do not need the details. I am interested in knowing what society will do to punish criminals and how our country will stop terrorists. In my opinion CNN’s non stop reporting on an aircraft disappearance is not serving its viewers so I turn off the broadcast. When you have heard enough you too should do the same.

Leave a Reply

